· 

Almond Milk Hot Cocoa

I've always been a fan of hot chocolate! But I don't like breaking my diet just to drink down all that bad stuff. After the first snow storm of 2020, I made the kids homemade hot cocoa. I was frozen to the bone after playing in the snow with the kids.

I didn't want coffee. Caffeine makes me wild! 

So, I decided to traded milk for almond milk and sugar for zero calorie sweetener.   

In a saucepan, over medium low heat, add almond milk, water, cocoa and sugar substitute. Bring it to a steamy hot, if it starts to boil, turn it off. There is no reason to boil it.  

Pour into you favorite mug! You can add marshmallows,  cool whip and dusting of cinnamon. Whatever, you like! 


Almond Milk Hot Cocoa

1 1/4 cup of almond milk (unsweetened)

3/4 cup of water

1 1/2 tbsp of cocoa

2 tbsp of sugar substitute

 

Directions:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a sauce pan over medium low heat. 
  2. Once it is steamy, take it off the heat. If it does boil, just turn it off.
  3. Pour it into your favorite mug and add your favorite toppings or just enjoy as is!   

*If made with gluten-free products this is naturally gluten-free. 

*WW blue plan points is 2 if prepared as above. As always- double check with your calculator.