· 

Cauliflower Bread

It's pizza night! The two younger kids, along with their father, like those dough packets you can get in the pizza aisle at any grocery store. Just add hot water and a bit of oil, and you got a decent crust. 

I miss the days when it was that simple for myself. But, it isn't. I refuse to pay for a gluten-free crust that is chewy and resembles cardboard. No, thank you! 

My oldest daughter likes a lighter pizza crust. So, I make this for her and me!

I usually have all this on hand- all the time. A 12 oz bag of frozen, steamer bag of cauliflower, onion and garlic powder, baking powder, gluten-free all-purpose flour and a egg. Since I'm using this for pizza, I'm not adding any salt. If you like, you could add a 1/2 to 1 tsp of salt.  

 

Steam the cauliflower in the microwave by the directions on the bag of the bag. 

Drain the cooked cauliflower in a strainer, then add it to a food processor.  

Rice the cauliflower. Don't mash it. You don't want to work with a mushy mess.

At this moment, I put it in a microwave safe bowl. I don't like to squeeze the water out of the cauliflower. It is messy and sometime painful if it is isn't cool enough. 

Instead, put it in the microwave and cook it for 2 to 4 minutes to zap the moisture out of it. 

Take out of the microwave and let it cool for a minute or two. Add flour. 

Add garlic.

Now the onion. 

Add baking powder. Don't forget this. It is the leavener. The dough won't rise without it. 

Coat the cauliflower in the mixture. Mix it up well! 

Beat the egg into the Cauliflower and flour mix. 

It will make a wet dough. It is a sticky dough, too.

Line a pizza pan with parchment paper. Spray it with a some oil on the paper. Spoon the cauliflower out onto the paper. 

This stuff will stick to the spoon. I like to wet my hand and press it out to my desired thickness. It isn't pretty but it works. 

Place in a preheated oven at 475 and bake for 10 minutes. If you are going to eat this plain, bake for a total of 15 minutes UNLESS it isn't golden enough to your liking. 

This after 10 minutes. At this point, I'm ready to put together a simple pizza. -Sadly, I was out of banana peppers and black olives :( - Sauce, cheese and pepperoni is all I really need!

Finished!! Slice into 4 to 8 slices! The bread is 4 points on WW by my calculations. As always add it up on your calculation, double check every thing.  


Cauliflower Bread

1-12 oz bag of frozen cauliflower in a steamer bag

1 egg

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup gluten-free flour ( you can use regular flour, too.)

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 475 
  2. Line and pizza pan with parchment paper and spray with some oil. 
  3. Steam the cauliflower by the directions on the bag.
  4. Place the cauliflower in a food processor and rice it ~Don't not mash it~ 
  5. Put into a microwave safe bowl and cook for an additional 2 to 4 minutes to dry it out instead of squeezing the moisture out of it. (unless you want to squeeze it out. Then skip this step.)
  6.  Remove from the microwave and add flour, garlic, onion and baking powder. 
  7. Coat the cauliflower the flour mix. 
  8. Add the egg and mix into a wet, sticky dough.
  9. Turn the dough out on the parchment paper. 
  10. Using clean, wet hands press the dough out to desired thickness. 
  11. Bake for 10 minutes or until it is browned to your desired level.

* Gluten-free if you use gluten- free products. 

*4 Points on the blue plan on WW- always double check on your plan and calculator.