· 

Chicken Fajitas

Powr.io content is not displayed due to your current cookie settings. Click on the cookie policy (functional and marketing) to agree to the Powr.io cookie policy and view the content. You can find out more about this in the Powr.io privacy policy.

Chicken Fajitas are one of my favorite quick meals! 

Yesterday was a rough day. The kids were piled up with homework. I had a 10 point lunch and couldn't afford another junk meal. I had went to the grocery store that morning- I was at the store at 7 am just so I could be on time making breakfast and get the kids ready for school. I had chicken breasts thawed out on the fridge. I had fresh peppers and onions.

I remembered that my fajitas are Zero points on my blue plan for WW. That's how I picked what we would have for dinner! 

 

3 chicken breasts, one yellow pepper, one green pepper, one onion, a can of diced tomatoes and chilies, spray oil and last- my favorite seasoning- Zatarain's Creole seasoning. I put Zatarain's Creole seasoning on everything, even salad! 

First chop up the chicken. It seems to take the longest for me. I usually try to keep the chunks, even, and medium to small chucks. This helps to cook the chicken faster!  

I like to slice the peppers in long slices. The onion is in thick chunks. (my husband don't like to eat the onions but likes the flavor. The larger chucks of onions makes it easier for him to pick them out.) Long slices and thick chunks saves time when preparing the veggies. You can add more than this- hot peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, squash, anything you like! I like simplicity so I'm keep it this way.     

Yes, I made fajitas in a wok. I can toss the sh*t out of it and it will stay inside my pan. Less mess! Spray your pan with oil, heat on medium heat. Dump in the chicken and shake on your seasoning of choice. If you notice, I don't use cumin. The spice make my hubby ill. Besides, I don't taste a difference in it. 

After the chicken is done, spoon out the chicken but leave the juice rendered from the chicken. It is full of seasoning and flavor. 

Add the veggies to the pan and juice. I don't usually salt this. To me and my family, the shake of seasoning from the chicken is salty enough. If I was to place a measurement on the seasoning I used, it was probably 1 teaspoon.  

Once the veggies are soft enough to your liking, add the diced tomatoes. I like a bit of spice. If you don't plain diced tomatoes would be just as good. Heat the tomatoes, don't burn it! 

Once heated, add in the chicken. Warm it all together! That's it! 

 

Now, my family likes these with flour tortillas and tortilla chips. I have a food allergy. I can't eat flour tortillas. I can eat corn tortillas. But I wanted a lighter option. Besides, I don't usually eat my fajitas with tortillas. 

I love them on/or as a salad! 

Yummy! 


Chicken Fajitas

3- chicken breasts

1-onion

1-one colored pepper(orange, red, yellow give a nice pop color)

1-one green pepper (or two if you aren't using a colored one)

1- 12 oz can of diced tomatoes (your choice of level of heat)

1 tsp of season-all seasoning

spray oil

 

Directions

  1. Chop up the chicken, place to the side.
  2. Slice the peppers and cut the onion into thick chunks.
  3. Spray the pan with oil and warm on medium heat.
  4. Toss in the chicken, season with the season-all and cook thoroughly. 
  5. Once cooked, remove the chicken from the pan. Save the juice in the pan. 
  6. Add the peppers and onion to the juice. cook until tender. 
  7. place the tomatoes with the tender veggies. Warm through. 
  8. Fold the chicken in the veggies and tomatoes.  
  9. Heat everything together.
  10. Once it is hot, take off the heat! it is ready!  

* This is zero points on the blue plan of WW as prepared above. As always double check with your plan before making.