· 

Fried Rice

Fried Rice

Powr.io content is not displayed due to your current cookie settings. Click on the cookie policy (functional and marketing) to agree to the Powr.io cookie policy and view the content. You can find out more about this in the Powr.io privacy policy.

Yesterday, I made spring rolls. I had plenty of plain white rice left over. So, I thought my first blog could be one of the easiest thing I like to make.  

With three kids at home and going to school virtually, I'm cooking up to three meals for lunch. At lunch time, I'm searching for a quick, filling meal. Cleaning out my tiny-a$$ fridge  and making some room is a plus!

Eggs, sausage, green onions, carrots, oil, day-old rice- This is what I used today. All this can be changed and adjusted to what you like or want or even what you have on hand! You can use fully cooked or cooked prior- it must be fully cooked chicken, the same rules apply if you use beef as it does to the chicken, hot dogs- any meat that could be diced. You could add broccoli, cauliflower, corn, water chestnut- you want it- Add it!   

I didn't have much time to make it fancy. I had baby carrots on hand. I cut them up in small discs. The need to be small and as even as you can get them. Even out the cooking time or you'll have raw carrots. 

Chop up those onions!

6 oz (or a little bit more) of turkey smoked sausage is plenty for this meal! 

Everything is ready to start cooking. Scrambled eggs, chopped onions and carrots, diced sausage along with the rice. Getting everything together like this makes life easier when you have little time and in a rush- I can hear the teacher calling on my youngest child to read and as usual, the child is lost.- It helps when you distracted and hopping around to keep up with all the chaos. At least it is helpful to me. 

Okay, I helped her with her sentence. (My baby is in kindergarten. It was only a distraction for a few minutes.) Now, heat a wok, or a skillet with high sides- stirring rice can go everywhere deeper the pan the better!-Use medium to low heat to preheat your pan. 

Place a 1/2 tbsp and the sausage in the heated pan. keep it medium to low heat, don't want to burn it.

Add dem carrots! Cook on low until you reach the tenderness you like with the carrots. Be sure to stir often, your meat and carrots will burn. If you have others veggies that with take a bit to get soft, add them now and let them cook with carrots.

My carrots reached tenderness I like, then I added the onions. I cook enough to get them touched by the heat. 

Remove the sausage, carrots and onions from the heat and put them in a bowl. Be sure to make it a large bowl and you can put the finished riced in the same bowl. Less dishes- I'm not looking to keep my hands in water all day.- Keep the same pan or wok as well. This basically a one pan meal! 

If you have a nonstick pan or wok, you don't need anymore oil for the eggs. Pour your eggs in and scramble. 

When those are finished, toss them in with the meat mixture. I like to do my eggs this way. I don't like it when my eggs sticks to everything. So, I cook them separate. 

Add 1 tbsp of oil and heat it up on low. Don't worry about the left over eggs, it won't hurt it. This is a one pan meal. Literally, you don't need to change out pans. 

Add the rice and heat it through the rice. It will get softer as you heat it. Continue to use low heat. 

At this time add 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1 teaspoon of chicken bouillon. If you want other seasonings, add it now. I don't use soy sauce because I'm allergic to wheat, barley and sesame. So, my recipes won't include things that contain gluten or sesame. But feel free to add what you want! 

Once the rice is tender, fold in the egg and meat mixture. You can add the quick- cook veggies- broccoli, cauliflower or any other easy heated veggie. Heat everything together!

Take it off the heat and add to the bowl you had used for the meat mixture. It is finished!! Enjoy! 


Fried Rice 

6oz of any choice of fully cooked meat (turkey sausage is what I used)

1 cup carrots

3 eggs scrambled

3 green onions 

3 cups of day-old rice

1 1/2 tbsp of oil

1 tsp of chicken bouillon

1/2 tsp of salt

 

Steps

  1. Prepare your veggies- chopping them into small chunks, or dice them. Be sure to make them small, easier to cook the harder veggies. 
  2. Heat a wok or deep pan on medium to low heat. 
  3. Add 1/2 tbsp of oil and your choice of fully cooked meat. 
  4. Saute the the meat for a few minutes then add  the carrots. 
  5. Cook on low heat until the carrots are tender or to your liking. 
  6. Add green onion and saute. 
  7. Remove from the heat and put in a bowl- one big enough to transfer the finished rice in. 
  8. Next scramble your eggs. If you are using a nonstick pan, you won't need to use any extra oil. 
  9. Place finished eggs with the meat mixture. 
  10. Add 1 tbsp of oil to the wok or pan, heat on low to medium heat. 
  11. Add rice, 1/2 tsp of salt and 1 tsp of bouillon, heat through until softer. 
  12. Add the eggs and meat mixture to the rice and any other veggies you choose to use. 
  13. Once it is all hot, take off the heat and enjoy! 

*This meal is gluten-free as prepared above. 

*On the blue plan of WW- this meal is 10 points as listed above- it is 3 servings on the recipe calculator. As always check your points and use the tool provide for you to determine your points.